Monday, July 25, 2011

Monday: Upper Body + Abs @ Planet Fitness

Once again, after being away from my mistress for a few days (since last Wednesday), an hour on the arc seemed to breeze by. I did waver a bit, but I've found that getting my horrible reality tv fix in during this time makes it go by much faster. I don't plug my headphones in, I still listen to my own music so commercials aren't as dull.

So I upped my weights this week to really push myself, since I'm getting a little bored with my workout, with the exception of the arm extension and curl for the sole reason that I don't know how to set the machine at 20 lbs and I don't feel like asking anyone, so I just upped my reps on those.

Cardio:: 1 Hour on Arc

Weights::

Arm Extension 3 Sets of 15 @ 15 lbs
Curl 2 sets of 15 + 3 @ 15 lbs

Overhead Press 2 Sets of 15 @ 35 lbs
Row 2 Sets of 15 @ 50 lbs

Pulldown 2 Sets of 15 @ 50 lbs
Chest Press 2 Sets of 15 @ 50 lbs

Fly 1 Set of 15 + 5 @ 50 lbs
Rear Delt 1 Set of 15 + 4 @ 15 lbs

Torso Extension 15/each side @ 50 lbs
Abdominal 2 Sets of 15 @ 50 lbs

Captain's chair was taken

I noticed this older (kinda weird looking) guy staring at me several times throughout my workout. While I was on the arc I figured it was because I sweat like a dude and I was wearing cotton. But when I was on the Chest Press it was just getting awkward and creepy. When I left, he was by his motorcycle and commented on the fact that he saw me sweating (why?) and then he saw me max out on the bench press (...noted...). So then he started asking about my weights and reps and I indulged him; maybe my endorphins were making me a little more inclined to be nicer to my elders. So when I told him I upped my weights on most of my machines to 50, he seemed... impressed? Flabergasted? Then he said "You're a tiny little thing!" Which, of course, made up for all the weirdness prior.

So another exciting thing about this Monday-workout-after-hiatus is that I went over to the gym on post and used their sauna for the first time. It was very relaxing and nice. I didn't feel comfortable taking a shower afterwards because in the first stall I looked I swear there was a half of someone's weave in there, which made me vomit a little in my mouth. But I know I'm going to have to get over this because a cool shower right after a hot sauna is like chicken and porn, you just can't have one without the other. I think I just need a sturdy pair of shower shoes. I also realized that I am going to have to have a sauna bag separate from my workout bag because the Bath Sheet that I use takes up a lot of space and there's no room for a chill out outfit for after the sauna plus my workout sneaks, etc. Kind of a pain, but I'll do it, because I think it will be worth it. There is a couch outside of the women's locker room, but it is right in front of the large (read: loud) gymnasium. I wish there were a quiet and relaxing area to "come down" afterwards.

I've been reading up on the benefits of saunas and I think in the future I'd like to use some oils. Because it is an infrared, or "dry" sauna, you can't put water or oils on the rocks. But If I brought a small spray bottle with some water and oil in it, I could spritz a small towel and put it over my face as I lie down and I think that'd be very aroma-therapeutic :D

No comments:

Post a Comment